Spotted!

It’s the morning of Friday 23rd July 2010, my last day in the office before a two week summer break and the usual crunch of work to be finished before departure is weighing down.

Mid-am, and an alert pops up in my RSS reader…



Sounds interesting, but at that price possibly a scam, so I fire a quick email to the vendor, who’s based in Barcelona, Spain.

1/2 hour later, I get a response with more photos, and the car – if the seller (DS) is genuine – really does sound like a super-exciting prospect.

But what’s the best way to find out if DS is real, and if he is, whether the seller is really him. Does he have possession of the car (the photos I’ve been sent are date-stamped 2008), and if so, what about ownership and title…

Old car scams online have been rife for years; anyone can ‘borrow’ a digital image and use it to snare a gullible collector with an attractive price and the lure of a seeming bargain…

Here are the photos I was looking at that first day.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment